Steak, Asparagus and Green Beans

My family eats steak once or twice a week for dinner.  That means I have to be creative. I try to make myself a 4 oz steak, and my husband and son a 6-8 oz steak.  I find two vegetables to pair with dinner on most nights.  Tonight I chose asparagus and green beans. This low carb meal does not have to be high fat. In fact, the base ingredients give Fat: 11.2, Protein: 36.45, Carbohydrates: 4.29, Calories 264, Ratio 0.27:1. Of course, this ratio doesn’t work, so I start adding in fat sources as I cook. I don’t worry about getting an exact ratio on dinner because I have to make sure my son and husband can eat too. I just make sure to add in as much fat as possible and have higher ratios for the rest of my meals.

 

4 oz (113 g) Top Sirloin in butter

6 spears (107 g) Asparagus in coconut oil

1/3 can (51 g) French style green beans in bacon grease

Garlic, onion, salt, pepper, onion powder

 

I fried the steak in butter with onion, garlic, salt and pepper. Before serving I removed the onion to service to my son so I wouldn’t have the carbs from it.  The asparagus was sautéed in a tablespoon or two of coconut oil. I use coconut oil because it is more ketogenic than the other oils. I just use salt and pepper to season. Once I’ve pulled out my husband and son’s asparagus, I serve mine and pour any remaining oil on top to eat with dinner. The green beans get cooked the way my husband’s mama always made them, in bacon grease with onion powder, salt and pepper.

 

My guess is that this puts the meal up to about a 1:1 ratio, which is workable with the rest of the meals I eat.  Since the amounts I eat at one time end up seeming small, my son got a large baked potato with his meal, and my husband got broccoli with his. You’ll also note that I vary my fat sources. It is my attempt to make the food I eat as nutritious as possible, while providing as much variety in flavor as possible.

Standard

Leave a Reply

